Every state in the United States has laws and regulations prohibiting driving under the influence of alcohol. DUI cases can be quite arduous and difficult to defend because the Commonwealth of Virginia does not have a system for assessing and evaluating blood alcohol levels. Even minor DUI charges carry hefty fines and fines, and drivers are prohibited from driving if their blood alcohol level is above or equal to 0.08%.
A person can also be accused of driving under the influence of drugs, whether they are prescription or illegal drugs. A DUI charge in Virginia carries up to five years in prison and a fine of $1,000 or more. Fines vary depending on the driver’s alcohol content and blood alcohol level.
In Virginia, a DUI charge can also result in a fine of up to $1,000 for a first offense and $2,500 for a second offense. Given the consequences of a DUI charge, the experience can be embarrassing, frightening and confusing. It is therefore crucial to find the right legal representation to understand your case, defend your rights and achieve the best possible results. If your driver’s license privileges are revoked because of a first or second DUI conviction, your license will be revoked two years after receiving the DUI.