Criminal laws in Virginia are very strict and the criminal has to face harsher penalties for this. When it comes to understanding the criminal laws of Virginia then here you must need to understand about all the classification of the charges for which you have been charged. AN individual can be charged with felony or misdemeanor. A felony charge can carry a hefty sentence of the state imprisonment or even the penalty of death. On the other hand, a serious misdemeanor will carry the imprisonment penalty that will be up to 1 year. If you will be charged with misdemeanor or felony you must need to hire a lawyer for you who will provide you a proper defense to you. It will reduce the time of your potential sentence.
Class 1 Misdemeanor In Virginia:
Misdemeanors are separated by different classes. Class 1 Misdemeanor is the most serious and common charge in Virginia and other states as well. These are basically lees serious type of felonies. The crimes for which an individual can be charged under the Class 1 Misdemeanor include the following elements:
- Reckless Driving In Virginia:
If you are pulled over while speeding than you can be charged with the crime of reckless driving in Virginia. There is a limit of reckless driving that is 20 miles over the speed of applicable limit or it can be up to 80 miles/per hour. It does not matter that what is the limit of speed for a specific area.
- Simple Battery And Assault:
Simple assault and battery are two separate charges for which the person can be charged. Assault is an act in which a person will intentionally try to hurt or harm someone, even if the offender has no contact with the victim that will be classified as a crime. On the other hand, the battery crime is defined as the actual act which is related to the physical harming or contact.
- Petit Larceny In Virginia:
It is also defined as Class 1 Misdemeanor. Money, property or any other goods theft are failing under this criminal offense. As long as the goods or any other thing that is stolen worth less than $200, an individual will not charge for the felony. The thing that will be more than $200 can be a felony.
- Domestic Violence In Virginia:
Domestic violence is an act for which you can be charged for class 1 misdemeanor. It includes the violence against a household or family member such as parents, grandparents, daughter, son, sister, brother etc. Here the physical injury is not necessary for this charge it can also include the threats where the victim can be injured by harm or fear as well.
- Driving Under The Influence:
If you will be pulled over and your content of the blood alcohol will be 0.08 or more than you can be charged for the class 1 misdemeanor due to driving under the influence of alcohol. If you are addicted to any type of drugs then you may be facing a charge of driving while intoxicated.