In Virginia, there are four degrees of burglary. Each type varies in penalties. Burglary laws seem more confusing and complex. There are also other crimes which can be confused with burglary charges. That is why the laws have defined burglary in four varying degrees in Virginia. The general meaning of burglary is intruding someone’s house without informing and steals their things. There are some things which are considered while charging an offender with burglary. The most important thing to notice is that whether the offender is armed with weapons or not. If the offender has some deadly weapons like knife or gun etc, then he will be charged with a felony of Class 2. He will face a prison sentence of minimum 20 years. He will also pay the fine of $100,000.
First Degree Burglary
In Virginia, the first-degree burglary is defined as intruding someone’s house or property without letting them know with the intentions of stealing their property or other stuff. In first degree burglary, the facts must show that the offender was entered into the house or any other property with the intention to perform some theft activities and other criminal acts as well such as intent to murder or rape someone. If an offender intrudes into a house at the time of night with the intention to steal money or other goods then he will be charged with a first-degree burglary which is considered a felony crime. He will face a prison sentence of minimum 20 years. He will also pay the fine of $100,000.
Second Degree Burglary
In Virginia, the second-degree burglary means stealing someone’s property like firearm from vehicle or any other place where the property was kept. It is not necessary that the offender must enter into the house; it could be a store or shop and vehicle where the firearm is placed. This type of burglary is known as second-degree burglary. This is a Class B felony. The offender who is charged with second-degree burglary will face the prison sentence of minimum 15 years. He will also pay the fine of $100,000.
Third Degree Burglary
In the third degree burglary in Virginia, an offender enters into someone’s house with the intention of some additional crimes like violence not only theft. This is a class D felony. It includes the punishment of maximum 10 years of imprisonment in jail and a fine of $100,000.
Fourth Degree Burglary
In Virginia, the fourth-degree burglary is defined as breaking or entering into someone’s house or building with the intention of theft. If the offender has just entered into the house and gets caught then he will be convicted of the fourth-degree burglary charge. If the offender has some weapons in his possession and his intention was to intrude into the house but he gets caught then he will be charged with fourth-degree burglary. In this type, the jail imprisonment time is maximum 3 years.